Graduating seniors honored at Octorara

Octorara School District EmbleOctorara Area High School bestowed honors on graduating seniors and announced a variety of scholarships and awards at a May 29 Senior Awards Night.

Departmental Awards

Excellence in Business:Devin Tuel.

Excellence in English: Rachel Anderson, Meghan Miller.

Excellence in FACS: Sarah Robbins.

Excellence in Spanish: Joseph Mattis.

Excellence in French: Rachel Anderson.

Excellence in Science: Amanda Billig and James Supplee.

Excellence in Math: Katherine Vazquez.

The Neil Chippendale Award for Excellence in Social Studies: Joseph Mattis.

The John W. McIntire Award for Excellence in Government: Caitlyn Miller.

Philosopher of the Year: Robert Propst.

Excellence in Fine Arts: Hannah Dieringer, Sasafras Gingrich, Alexis Mandell, Jeremy Miller and Jordan Williams.

Outstanding Musician: James Supplee.


Althouse Transportation Scholar Athletes: Katherine Vazquez and Anthony DiNorscia.

Gene Davis Memorial Award: Daniel Jones.

Bill Hurley Memorial Sportsmanship Awards: Hannah Dieringer and Zachary Cornell.

Octorara’s Most Outstanding Athlete: Amanda Billig and Patrick McHenry.

Octorara Soccer Club Scholarships: Caitlyn Miller, Devin Tuel, Dan Jones and Keegan Wilson.

Other area scholarships & awards

Dorothy Russell Chapman Memorial Scholarship: Aubrey Farrow, Alexis Mandell, Katherine Vazquez and Paola Zavala-Garcia.

Christiana Lions Club Vo-Tech Awards: Ashley Widger and Brett Lloyd.

Christiana Lions Club Community Service Scholarship: Kylie Gibson and Tukker Zimmerman.

Clean Water Inc. Heroes Scholarship: Katherine Vazquez.

Helen Corson Peace Award: Maurice Bowers.

Eastern Lancaster Sportsman Club: Olivia Sellitto.

Fraternal Chapter 249 Order of Eastern Star Scholarship: Brett Lloyd.

Cpl. Brandon Hardy Memorial Scholarships: Jacob Dagney and Kendra Nicastro.

Betsy Handy Memorial Award: Jordan Williams.

Calvert G. Hess III Memorial Scholarship: Caitlin Coughlin.

Byron R. & Marie K. Judy Memorial Scholarship: Robert Propst.

Keystone Federal Credit Union Essay Winner: Andrew McKenna.

Dennis Large Memorial Civic Award: Daniel DeShong.

Alma Newlin Scholarship: Amy Achenbach, Kristy King, Brett Lloyd and Colleene Tarlo.

Octorara Area Education Association: General Scholarships, Kylie Gibson and Kristy Riley; Joan Skiles Memorial Scholarship, William Graber; Nicole Frame Scholarships, Caitlin Coughlin and Kristy King; Marge Gibb Memorial Scholarship, Sondra Stewart.

Octorara Education Foundation Scholarships: Rachel Anderson, Kevin Carr, Joseph Mattis and Meghan Miller.

Octorara Education Foundation Salutatorian Scholarship: Meghan Miller.

Octorara Engineering Award: Charles Pitcher.

Alma O’Leary Memorial Scholarship: Kristy King.

Parkesburg Area Business Association Scholarship: Cheyenne Tucker.

Parkesburg Lions Club: Service Award, Andrew McKenna; Health Services Award, Alicia Gauck; Dennis Large Citizenship Award, Colleene Tarlo.

Harry Chalfont Paxson Memorial Scholarship: Kristy Riley.

PA Senate Good Citizenship Award: Meghan Miller and Max Gallagher.

PNC Accounting Award: Cheyenne Tucker.

Robert Preston Shoemaker Scholarship: Kevin Carr, Hannah Dieringer, William Holmes, Sarah Kunko and Caitlyn Miller.

Earl Rittenhouse Nursing Memorial Scholarship: Amanda Billig.

Elizabeth Rittenhouse Teaching Memorial Scholarship: Paola Zavala-Garcia.

Skerrett Lodge 343 Community Service Scholarship: Amma Prociuk.

TCHS-PA Skills Certificates: Juan Bedolla, Shannon Bischoff, Stephen Cumberland, Michael Blair, Dane Burkhart, Jacob Dagney, Nicholas Franchitti, Zachary Fisher, Ana Torres Gutierrez, Zeke Haslett, Brett Lloyd, Robert A. Lloyd III, Kryn Masterstefone, Kendra Nicastro, Jaquelynn Olseski, Megan Ramsey and Colleene Tarlo.

Trista Williams Cosmetology Award: Ashley Widger.

Alan Wolfe Scholarship w/Philip Shank (1st Recipient): Alyson Gawin.

Christopher M. Wolfe Memorial Scholarship: Caitlyn Miller.

Read on Lancaster Online →


One response to “Graduating seniors honored at Octorara

  1. What an outstanding group of young people we have in our local communities. You kids make us all so proud. Thanks to the teachers who have done such a great job mentoring and guiding these young people to success.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s